The Fort William Golf and Country Club was founded when the first meeting to organize the Club was called on September 7, 1923 by the late Dr. M.B. Dean, at which time Dr. R.J. Manion (MP) served as chairman. Soon after, The John Garrity 100-acre farm was purchased for $75,000. The site is nestled at the foot of the picturesque Nor'Wester Mountains at the south edge of Fort William (Thunder Bay). A provincial charter was obtained and the Club was incorporated as the Fort William Country Club Limited.
The renowned golf architect, Stanley Thompson was engaged and $17,000 was spent in 1924 and 1925 on fairway and green developments as well as the installation of a watering system for the greens. At the end of 1925, 191 shares of stock valued at $100 each had been sold. In the spring of 1926 the nine-hole course was played for the first time.
Under the stewardship of Mr. R.W. Anderson in 1959, an additional 45 acres of land was purchased and a design was made to expand the course to a champion length of 18 holes. Norman H. Woods, a Vancouver golf architect, was contracted to plan the expansion so that the play on the original nine holes would not be interrupted. Due to his skillful planning, the members experienced very little inconvenience and after three years of hard work the 18 hole course was completed.
Mr. Norman Owens, drove the first ball on Saturday August 29, 1964 to officially open the course. The course expanded from the original 9 holes at 2,950 yards to 18 holes now measuring 6,547 yards. The new clubhouse was built with the assistance of the Great lakes Paper Company and ably directed by Mr. C.J. Jeffery, Club Property Chairman and Gunner Jensen, Grounds Superintendent, and was opened for use in 1965.
In 2002, an additional 5 acres was purchased for the sole purpose of adding a driving range and practice facility to the Course.