On September 7, 1923, Dr. M.B. Dean convened a meeting to organize a golf club. Dr. R. J. Manion (MP) served as chairman. This new entity was incorporated under provincial charter as the Fort William Country Club Limited. By the end of 1925, 191 shares of stock valued at $100 each had been sold to help finance the new corporation.
For $75,000 the club purchased the Garrity Farm, a 100 acre property nestled at the foot of the picturesque mount McRae, a part of the Nor'Wester Mountains. The club then engaged the renowned golf course architect Stanley Thompson, who designed a 9 hole, 2,950 yard long golf course for the property, using the natural features to provide a challenging layout. Construction of the course, including an irrigation system for the greens, and grow-in occurred during 1924 and 1925. The course first opened for play in the spring of 1926.
In 1959 the club purchased an additional 45 acres of land on its east side and engaged Norman H. Woods, a Vancouver golf course architect, to design an 18 hole championship length course for the enlarged property. Mr. Woods was able to retain holes 10, 17 and 18 of the 18 hole course from the original 9 hole Stanley Thompson design. Construction and grow-in of the new 18 hole layout proceeded while play continued on the original 9 holes. On August 29, 1964 Mr. Norman Owens drove the first ball to officially open the new 18 hole, 6,547 yard course.
As the 18 hole course grow-in was nearing completion, fire completely destroyed the original clubhouse. A new clubhouse was built with the assistance of the Great Lakes Paper Company and opened in 1965.
In 2002 the club purchased an additional 5 acres of land which is used for a driving range and practice facility.
Every Monday is Senior's Day from 11- 4